Thanksgiving 2014: What I’m Thankful For

Photo by Maria Kelly

Photo by Maria Kelly

WHAT I AM THANKFUL FOR:

  1. I am alive. After all I’ve been through. Still breathing. I am so broke I can’t afford to pay attention, and have days of extremely utter despair, when I think everything I’m doing is in vain. But I am intensely stubborn and refuse to give up…and despite it all, I am in love with Life.
  2. I have wonderful friends/amigos/nakama. I don’t have a lot of close family, but my friends more than make up for it. I don’t know what I’d do without you, so, from the bottom of my heart, Thank You All.
  3. I have my educational goals ahead. I have a strong 3.79 G.P.A. and only 3-to-4 semesters left before I get my B.A. from USFSP. I’ll be making a decision where to go to attend grad school but it’s likely I won’t be moving out of Florida unless someone offers me a free ride somewhere else. So, exciting adventures await me in the future. My coursework keeps me challenged and keeps me learning new things. I’ve begun to get more involved in the clubs I’m in (I’ll be officially inducted into the English Honors Society, Sigma Tau Delta, on December 3rd) and having fun interacting with my club mates.
  4. I have my Muse. My creative outlet which flows outward from me in inky lines of prose, verse, or occasionally art and photography/design. My Muse is my release valve. When things get too much, when the Universe takes a crap on my soul, I write or draw something. Poetry and storytelling have been my gift and palliative since I first stood on two legs.

I hope that you have some great things to be thankful for.

Happy Thanksgiving, all!

Leave a Reply

