#SHORTADAY: Day 1…and What I Plan To Read

Participate in #SHORTADAY!

Day 1 of my #SHORTADAY Challenge is here. I have decided to read one of the most reprinted stories of all time: “Repent, Harlequin!” Said the Ticktockman, by science fiction great Harlan Ellison.

This is a perfect story for me to kick off #SHORTADAY with. It’s only a couple pages long, and it is an award-winning short story. It won the Hugo Award for Best Short Story in 1966, and the Nebula Award in 1965, which is the year I was born. My birthday is Sunday, so expect to see maybe another classic by Ellison on that day as well. I’ve already read I Have No Mouth, And I Must Scream. It’s in the top five on my list of all time “must read” science fiction stories. I may read it again on Sunday, or investigate one of the other stories I have from his collection I’m reading: Alone Against Tomorrow.

Some folks have asked about the list I’m working from. It’s huge. I now have over 100 stories to choose from, enough to do three months worth of #SHORTADAY reading. Let me get through my one-month challenge, and we’ll see if I can manage more reading time. I have decided to post a few of the stories that I know I have to read for this:

That covers a few of the stories I definitely want to read for #SHORTADAY. And I’ve by no means mentioned them all. I’m going to try and read a little speculative and literary fiction from all publishing venues: indies and traditional. 
4 thoughts on “#SHORTADAY: Day 1…and What I Plan To Read

  1. John, then you’d have to call it #anthoaday. 😉 You can do it, though, if you like. I could not read an entire antho in one day. #Shortaday is doable for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

